The Smile of a Child

While walking from the SUB to the Sauder building today, I saw a girl smiling like the best thing had just happened to her. Our eyes met and with the same smile, she simply dropped her head and walked on with the same youthful glow. The purity in her smile was very refreshing and I couldn’t help but feel guilty for not being as delightful as she was. What happened to everyone’s childlike energy and positive mindset?

In today’s society, it seems like school, work, and the corporate world in general has sucked out all of the life from everyone. People walk around with a straight face, or sometimes even an angry face. Sometimes you cannot even see the person’s face because they are too busy texting. It’s so hard for people to meet each other these days because of the stupid thing called a cell phone. I know I have no right to say this because I am always texting away. However, if I am in the middle of a conversation, I am not going to leave it. Also, there is only one person I usually text and she is my best friend so be assured that she is more important and if she needs me, she’s got my attention via texting.

I dare everyone to stop for five minutes and just smile. Go back to when you were a child and had no worries in the world. Now tuck your phone away and go meet someone new. Give someone your full attention even though you’ve neglected them for the past few months. Sometimes those people you ignore the most are the ones that will make you the happiest. Show your youthful innocence and take on the world one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

